Yukon Discovery & Sled Dog Reviews

Read Skagway tour reviews and see what recent participants are saying about this excursion. We don't filter out any reviews.

Rating of This tour has received an average of 4.8 stars on a total of 35 Ratings

Default Avatar125
India
2016/07/31
Excellent tour

The tour is very well laid out and takes you to the top of the mountains, US and Canada borders, and the Yukon area. The tour guide was excellent and stopped at several areas and gave a continuous commentary. The dog sledge was very exciting and the time with the dogs and the handler was educating. Very much recommended for all people.

Default Avatar125
PA
2016/07/31
Excellent guide!

We did this tour in June 2016 with Tomas (otherwise known as Thomas) as our tour guide. Tomas was extremely knowledgeable about everything and told many interesting stories about the area and his personal experiences. He was very enthusiastic and clearly loves living the life in Alaska! We stopped off at all the sites and we even saw a brown bear and stayed so we could take pics. The dog ride was amazing, such a thrill watching the dogs run. Make sure you leave enough time to spend with the puppies at the end.

Default Avatar125
Juneau Alaska
2016/07/31
Dog sled ride

We purchased this for our daughter and her family. They certainly were not disappointed. They had a great time on the ride and being able to pet and hold the dogs. Thanks for helping us make a GREAT MEMORY they will never forget

Default Avatar125
Portland, OR
2016/07/31
Amazing tour

This was an amazing tour. Brooke our tour guide was very informative about the areas we were visiting. She is a great guide. I appreciated all the stops along the way to take pictures and really take in the scenery. The opportunity to go on the sled dog tour was great and was one of the highlights of the trip for our son. I highly recommend this tour to anyone really interested in seeing the ruggedness and beauty of the area.

Default Avatar125
California
2016/07/31
Tons of Fun!!

We had a blast on this tour! We had a great guide and the Dog Sled Camp was wonderful! Just being around those amazing dogs, their energy is contagious! The people that run the camp are all so nice and really love what they do, you can't help but love this place! This is a great tour, we will come back for sure!!

Default Avatar125
Indiana
2016/07/06

The tour guide was extremely informative. We had a few stops on the way for which she explained what each stop meant and it was the first day we saw a bear. Would definitely do it again. The Sled Dog experience was a lot of fun, and I would definitely recommend it to others.

Default Avatar125
Netherlands
2016/07/06
Beautiful tour!

We had a great time with our driver and guide John! He knows a lot, has some humor and talk to everyone of the group. He took enough time to see all the highlights. Also, when you had any questions he was very helpful!

Default Avatar125
Hawaii
2016/07/03
Wonderfully Amazing

The tour was fun. We enjoyed playing with the puppies and enjoyed the presentation. Informative and the tour guide answered all of our questions. Unfortunately the dogs were already harnessed and on platforms so we didn't see them in their dog houses like some other tours. The museum on site was awesome.

Default Avatar125
Dallas, TX
2016/07/03
Skagway Yukon Discovery and Sled Tour

This excursion was great for our kids. The drive up to the Dog Sled Camp was fantastic and our driver was great. The Dog Camp was great, but our time there was very short. I would have given this excursion a 5 star rating if we had more time at the camp to interact with the animals, eat, and walk through the museum. Additionally, we did the dog mushing on the sleigh. This was great and everyone in our group loved it, but it was really short. I would recommend extended the time at the dog sled camp and extending the ride with the dogs.

Default Avatar125
Puerto rico
2016/06/05
Definitely recommend!

A beautiful and instructive tour. The driver was friendly, courteous, knowledgeable, professional and everything a tour driver should be. Wouldve loved more time dog sledding since it lasted around 15 minutes and I believed in the description it said 30 minutes. We couldn't get to see any wildlife so I was quite disappointed in that, but overall I loved it. Also impressed by the lunch since they did give me gluten free options!

Default Avatar125
Atlanta, GA
2016/05/31
A very enjoyable trip - would do it again

Tyler, the tour guide, was knowledgeable and also went out of his way to find various wildlife and scenery, and stopped for the participants to take photos. Loved the tour, would do it again.

Default Avatar125
Brooklyn, NY
2015/10/06
Enjoyed the tour

We very much enjoyed the tour, fantastic scenery, our guide was interesting and informative. While we appreciated the opportunity to make many stops, when we got to the musher camp we had only 20 minutes to grab some food, eat, and then find the dogsled tour, so we didn't much enjoy lunch--also it was overcooked and the coffee not hot.

The dogs were great! Crazy pups! Afterwards it was only by chance that we found the musher's talk. But overall it was a great experience.

Lydia Bledsoe
Tennessee
2015/09/24
Yukon

Enjoyed our day, informative, fun and guide was very personable. Would encourage anyone to take your tour. Thanks for a great visit to the Skagway/Yukon Territory a very memorable experience. Simply breathtaking

Renee
Texas
2015/09/20
Loved it!

Brooke from frontier tours was the best tour guide and funny too! We enjoyed spending our day with her. Michelle and her sled dogs was a highlight on our trip to Alaska, can't wait to cheer her on for the Yukon and Iditarod races!! Highly recommend this excursion.

Default Avatar125
Bonneau S.C.
2015/09/13
Breathtaking

One of the best (if not the best) tours we did during our cruise! The scenery was magnificent, each moment was another post card experience. We really enjoyed the dog sledding as well. The dog sledding for me, was one of those times when I just acquiesced to my wife rather than argue but, I'm so glad I did!
Cannot say enough about this whole tour, it was great.

Arlene
Bend, Or
2015/09/02
Amazing tour of the Yukon

Our guide was professional, yet friendly & humorous. He made it a memorable trip. Our granddaughters loved the dog sled ride and interacting with the puppies. I would definitely recommend this tour to friends.

Mandy Hill
UK
2015/08/31
Lovely trip

Really glad I chose this trip. The guide JJ was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. It was a small friendly group which gave a more personal feel.
We made regular stops to investigate the countryside which was great.
The dog sled ride was great please make sure if you do it that you wear appropriate clothes as you can get muddy! The visit with the puppies was adorable and the musher was really informative.

Default Avatar125
Bend Oregon
2015/08/28

Enjoyed it immensely had my three grand children with us and they were very excited and had a great time with the puppies. If I come back to Alaska I will be sure to include another excursion here.

Earl Wilcox
Arizona
2015/08/18
Earl & Maddie leaving the Yukon

Absolutely the best stop on our cruise. Brooke was phenomenal as our tour guide. She was very knowledgeable and pleasant. Great scenery, clear views of everything, and good weather. Michelle was outstanding as our dog-sled driver, and it was simply a great pleasure to mix with the dogs and the people on this tour. I would definitely want to do this again.

Default Avatar125
Gainesville, FL
2015/08/11
Puppy Love

My 8 year old travel companion absolutely loved our guide/driver, Heidi. We had a wonderful day full of learning and scenery. What an experience!

Default Avatar125
Sydney, Australia
2015/08/11
Terrific Fun

Had a wonderful time. John was out guide for the day and he was fantastic. Very easy going, a wealth of knowledge and a great sense of humour. We purchased the summer dog cart ride and was so glad we did. Was one of the highlights of our three weeks in Canada and Alaska.
Would have liked a little more time at the Dog camp though. Ran out of time to see the museum and the gift shop properly.

Default Avatar125
Fargo ND
2015/07/28

The tour guide Brooke was incredible she knew so much and made it so much fun. The muncher camp was very organized and the sled ride was so much fun. We really loved playing and holding the Huskie puppies we would highly recommend this tour it was GREAT!!!!!

Default Avatar125
UK
2015/07/06
Fantastic Trip

I guess it was the weather that made it for us - it was fantastic. We had a small well managed group that had a great time. Superlatives are not enough, the scenery was fantastic, the Emerald Lake out of this world and the dogs were great. It was a hot day for a dog sled ride but every few hundred yards they had a water bath stop to cool down. The dogs were well fed and looked after and they were so excited at having the chance to run. Yes, the dog sled run is better in winter (and we have done one in Norway) but in summertime this is fun too. The lunch stop was good too. We can fully recommend this tour.

Default Avatar125
June 2015
2015/06/29
Great experience

Mike was a fantastic guide ! He entertained us with stories about the area, pointed out scenic spots, helped take photos and made a 'very nice' trip 'fantastic.' We saw mountain goats, a Lynx, a huge bear and several smaller animals.

The highlight for us was the sled dog trip and petting the 2week old puppies. Great fun! Mountain views, lakes and stunning terrain made this a fabulous trip.
I highly recommend!

Default Avatar125
Houston, Texas
2015/06/16
Yukon discovery and Sled Dogs.

One of best excursions we have taken. Mike (our driver/guide) was outstanding; very knowledgeable of Skagway and Yukon areas. Friendly, outgoing, and entertaining (could easily pass as a Texan). The sled dog experience was exciting and informative. Now know that a 1000 mile sled race in 10 days is grueling and dangerous. Not sure why they do it or how they do it; must be from love of dogs and excitement. Would definitely recommend tour to others.

Default Avatar125
Houston, Texas
2015/06/15
Fun Trip

My family enjoyed our trip to Yukon Territory and the dog sled experience. Our guide, Mike was very informative and entertaining. He really made the trip fun! The kids loved playing with the husky puppies and learning about how they are trained for racing. It was a memorable experience and would highly recommend.

Galvan
Los Angeles
2015/06/13
Highlight of our trip!

Heidi made our trip very memorable. We really enjoyed the scenic route we took to get to the dog sledding and enjoyed stopping for pictures along the way. This was the most fun we had our whole time in Alaska! I would highly recommend this trip to any kid of any age!

Default Avatar125
Deception Bay Queensland Australia
2015/06/10
Yukon discovery and sled dog tour

Wow wow wow absolutely one of the best tours. Jon (tour guide/bus driver) you had me amused with your jokes, amazed by your knowledge of the area for someone so young, you didn't mind going out of your way, taking photos of us stopping when and if we thought someone saw something. I toured with a very picky person and they were even astounded and had the best day. Thank you so much you are an asset to this tour.. The views were absolutely amazing the history of the area very sad around I think it was dead horse mountain, we just got to the point where the train was crossing a small bridge in time to take some great photos. The desert was amazing, Emerald lake and all the other lakes beautiful. Snow still around in the Yukon mountains. Dog sled ride was great as I missed going with the 2 groups (to busy playing with pups) it was no problem for the people to hook up some more dogs to take me around for my own lap of the track totally amazing, a big thank you to the dog sled people. Had a lovely lunch. On our way back jon remembered we wanted to stop at one of the welcome signs it was no problem at all.
I can't thank the tour operator enough was just an exceptional day. AAA++++

Sharon Powell
United Kingdom
2014/09/23
A trip of a lifetime!

Amazing experience. The tour was far more than we expected. Mike our tour guide was so informative and very entertaining. We didn't realise how indepth the tour would be. Mike even took the time to take photos of us all if we wanted them, which was over and beyond what we expected. These pics and memory will stay with us forever! The highlight for us was the sled dog centre as we have two Siberian Huskies as pets, but we do work them as they need and love to pull. To see Michelle and her dog teams in action was outstanding! You can see the dogs are loved and cared for and they were all super cute, including the puppies. The dogs got so excited when it was their turn to pull and boy did they fly! We're so pleased we were able to fit this excursion into our holiday programme. Thank you

Default Avatar125
Utah
2014/08/11

We did the White Pass trail. Our party of 4 really enjoyed it because of our guide, Savannah. She was very knowledgeable and flexible with what we wanted to do. She made the trip great!

Default Avatar125
Littleton, CO
2014/08/06
Yukon Discovery and Sled Dog Tour

We had a wonderful time. The tour guide was excellent and provided interesting commentary. The sled dog ride was fascinating. To see the dogs lunging to get started it clearly showed how those dogs were bred to pull! Thanks for a great day!

Default Avatar125
Washington DC
2014/08/02
Tons of Fun and Incredibly Informative

This tour had it all and our super guide, Heidi, knew so much about the history and about the Iditarod that I could keep asking questions and she had good solid answers for each one. We had time for picture stops and potty stops! We visited Michelle P.'s musher camp and took a ride with the dogs which was cool even without the snow. We learned all about the race and the equipment needed to be safe through the most difficult conditions. We loved this day and recommend this to everyone who wants to see and learn a lot about life back then and then learn about life today during the Iditarod races. The contrast was so interesting!!! Our guide was the best!!!! Don't miss this one.

Default Avatar125
Los Angeles, USA
2014/07/30

Experience of a life time that my children will forever remember and cherish. picture taking was really brief. it was like "click , click, and done".

Default Avatar125
Iowa
2014/07/05
Excellent Trip

Driver was very knowedgable and informative. Very interesting and great trip. Most definetly would recommend to friends.

Default Avatar125
Houston, TX
2014/06/29
Yukon Tour & Husky sled ride

The trip was very worthwhile. The driver was friendly, knowledgable and funny. He knew when to make photo opportunity stops and yet keep us on our schedule. The lunch was fine but the sled-dog ride and educational update was great. It was a highlight of the tour.

Default Avatar125
San Francisco, California
2014/05/15
Yukon Discovery & Sled Dog Review

Awesome tour, Sled ride was kind of short, lack of wild life sightings ( perhaps too early in season) other than that, tour was awesome! Tyler was very informative and hilarious. Loved the bear stories. Would give it 4.5 stars if possible. Tour recommended!

5% Pledge
Sustainable Tourism

5% of our profits will go to support Alaskan sustainable tourism efforts. That's our pledge at Skagway Shore Tours.

FREE 

 

PLANNER

with Cruise Packing List

Packing lists, money-saving tips, where to eat, and do-it-yourself activities.

JOIN

the INSIDER

NEWSLETTER!

Don't forget to visit  AlaskaShoreTours.com

for Juneau, Skagway, and Ketchikan all in one place.

Thank You! Check Your Email

Looking for Skagway or Ketchikan Tours?