Yukon Discovery Reviews

Read Skagway tour reviews and see what recent participants are saying about this excursion. We don't filter out any reviews.

Rating of This tour has received an average of 4.86 stars on a total of 36 Ratings

Ann Hebert
New Hampshire, USA
2016/07/31
Skagway & into the Yukon!

Perfect day with a great guide, Michael. It's a great way to learn about the area & see the amazing sites. Lunch was yummy with a special treat of homemade donuts! Plenty of stops for pics & up close viewing. Great tour!

Default Avatar125
Australia
2016/07/31
The white pass and Yukon tour

Great tour, scenery was fantastic good feed and the tour guide was happy to answer any questions. Also cheaper tour than booking through the cruise ones.

Default Avatar125
Juneau
2016/07/31
Yukon discovered

We took our daughter and family on this shore excursions. It was an AWESOME experience.It was a delightful day and the scenery was BEAUTIFUL.
Our guide was very knowledgable about the area and gave us great opportunity to take GREAT pictures of this great country

Default Avatar125
Marlboro, MA
2016/07/03
Yukon Discovery Tour

Everything was great. Guide was awesome.

Default Avatar125
Moorpark CA 93021
2016/07/03

5 Stars for sure. Our Driver/Guide , Mike brought his 11 month Alaskan Husky, "Charley". What a plus she turned out to be. Mike was very friendly & informative. The weather and scenery was perfect. We enjoyed the trip very much, and highly recommend the adventure.

Default Avatar125
June 2016
2016/07/03

We had a good tour guide. Enjoyed our visit at the Yukon. Lunch was good.

Default Avatar125
Portland Oregon
2016/06/15
Yukon Discovery tour

I really enjoyed this tour, more so than the tours we did in Juneau and Ketchikan. The guide Mike was very nice. The scenery was beautiful and weather was amazing. Lunch was decent and sled dog puppies were so cute!

Chris F
West Virginia
2016/06/13
Our Yukon Driving Tour: Beautiful

Our Yukon tour was wonderful. Couldn't have asked for a better tour guide. This is our second time on the Yukon tour. We saw eight bear on this trip and a moose. A trip on an Alaskan cruise is not complete unless you've taken this tour!! Would highly recommend Skagway Shore Tours!

Default Avatar125
u.k.
2016/05/25
Bears In the Yukon

Great Tour the guide was really great with information. The scenery was marvelous and so different you need to experience this to know what I mean. And I was lucky enough to see A bear with her cubs. Thank you for a great trip

Default Avatar125
Kentucky
2015/10/13

We had the most amazing tour and tour guide Brooke. She was very knowledgeable. Would go again in a minute if we were there!

Default Avatar125
Southern California
2015/09/17
Our Yukon tour was great.

Candy our tour guide was amazing with her history and knowledge about the area. We saw a lot of nature and had a great time at all the stops. Lunch was delicious! Thank you!

Default Avatar125
Star princess. We are from Kentucky
2015/09/13

This was a beautiful and enjoyable your. Our guide Brooke was the best. Would definitely do it again!!

Default Avatar125
NYC and Spain
2015/09/08
Excellent

Our best tour in our two weeks in Alaska. Nice group tour. Great photo opportunities. Excellent driving and food in Carcross.

Default Avatar125
Canada
2015/09/05
Yukon Discovery Tour

Very well guided tour. Tyler was very knowledgeable and funny. Yukon was beautiful and majestic and the tour length is just right.

Default Avatar125
Washington DC
2015/08/25
Wonderful Tour of Yukon

We took Yukon discovery tour during our Alaskan Cruise. Wonderful experience ... Worth every bit of it. Our tour guide JJ Jessica has been wonderful in explaining Yukon tour. She has a lot of knowledge of this area and made our trip a pleasant experience.
I would definitely repeat this if I visit this place in the future . I would repeat this tour just for JJ Jessica . She is a wonderful person.
She made our day during this tour . Very memorable.

Jillian Berg
Ft Lauderdale
2015/08/09
Amazing Experience!

This was our favorite day in Alaska. Our guide was awesome and we were able to see so much and have many great experiences. I highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Default Avatar125
North Carolina
2015/08/07
Wonderful tour- one of the best!

Mike was a fabulous, fun, and knowledgeable tour guide!! Really a great tour of the area. Unique experience overall

Default Avatar125
Cruise ship docked in Skagway
2015/07/07
Great Tour

The tour was terrific. Our guide, Brooke, was very insightful, funny and interactive. The stop in Carcross was a lot of fun. Our kids especially enjoyed playing with the Husky puppies! Highly recommend it!

Default Avatar125
New Zealand
2015/07/05

Amazing trip up through the Yukon Territory. T Bone was most informative and entertaining. The stop for lunch and the tour of the taxidermy museum and the interaction with the puppies were the highlights. Great trip.

Default Avatar125
Miami
2015/07/03
Skagway

Excellent!! Our tour guide, Mike, was fun and very informative. a great way to see and enjoy Skagway!!

Default Avatar125
California
2015/06/27
Great Experience

Loved all the stops and being able to spend time at various places of beauty. We saw 7 bears! Brooke, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and kept it interesting. It was great to be on a tour through the locals rather than a big ship tour. The bus was easier to get on and off and they knew all the tricks to keep us out of the crowds and get us to all the right places. It was a great day.

Sonja and Bernard Ross
Bellingham, WA
2015/06/22
Mike and the Yukon Trip

Mike made our trip to the Yukon from Skagway unforgettable. Knowledgeable about the culture and environment, he gave us a unique view of not only Alaska, but the great Yukon as well. We spotted bears, eagles and got to play with Dog Sled puppies. What more could you ask for? Mike was willing to allow us time for pictures and took quite a few for us. We would book any trip if he was our guide/driver!

Default Avatar125
Nashville Tn
2015/06/20
Yukon discovery

Excellent choice. Shipmates who took the railroad car were disappointed and never got off the train. Our guide Mike was a blast and stopped whenever we saw something interesting, which fortunately included several bear sightings. This trip really I'd spectacular and so glad we did it.

Default Avatar125
England
2015/06/11
Skagway Yukon discovery tour

Our guide was brilliant nicknamed T Bone. He was fun and very knowledgeable and wouldn't hesitate to use him again and also would recommend this tour. Fantastic. There was four of us on this tour and we all felt the same.

What outstanding scenery.

Default Avatar125
Texas
2015/06/02
Great tour guide, wonderful weather, and spectacular views!

Brooke was a fantastic tour guide who made the trip fun and informational. The lunch served was wonderful and the puppies were adorable. Great trip to take if you have grandparents who have trouble walking.

Default Avatar125
Stafford, VA
2015/05/29

Our guide was Tyler and he was the best. He was knowledgeable and friendly and went out of his way to make our trip a pleasant one. He made sure that couples had their pictures taken together. We would definitely do it again and would ask especially for tyler.

Default Avatar125
Ontario, Canada
2014/09/23
Yukon - Frontier Excursions

Our guide, Savannah, greeted us with a smile & maintained her bubbly personality throughout a 6-hr day. She was knowledgeable, accommodating & energetic.
Canada & US are stunning countries. We have a shared gold rush history that few are privileged to hear or see. Savannah was more than informative with her knowledge of miners hiking into the unclaimed forests & mountains.
We had a lunch & visit with dog sled teams in Carcross, Yukon which was too short. That would be my only complaint --- this one & only timed stop could be longer. Two & a half hrs would have been perfect to really enjoy the dogs, food, & museum.
Great trip, awesome vistas & wonderful guide. Thx

Lori Roady
Phoenix Arizona
2014/09/09
Yukon Discovery Tour

Had a great time. Mike did an awesome job as our tour guide. He is very knowledgeable and you can tell he loves what he is doing. Took us to great places to showcase how beautiful the Yukon area is. We would do this tour again when we return to Alaska. Loved Caribou Crossing...food was good but hanging with the puppies was awesome.

Jolanda Steenvoorden
Australia
2014/09/09
Yukon Discovery is FUN

“Fantastic day out from Skagway, great value, brand new bus, Mike the driver from Frontier Excursions made the day!”
5 Star, Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Booked this tour "yukon discovery" online after comparing the offers from Skagway. The tour looked like better value then the much hyped train ride. It sure was!!
Great scenery, enthusiastic and knowledgeable host/driver Mike. True, jokes aside, he made the day. Very helpful with photos at beautiful spots. Termination Dust (snow on the mountain tops) had fallen and that was a sign of cold things to come!
Price is more then fair, timely pick up and drop off. We found out lots of interesting facts about the area, things he gets up to with his buddies (questionable names and all, not sure what to expect at the Morning Wood Hotel) and we even drove by his cabin as part of his introduction to the tour :-).
Fun, comfortable and informative, very happy with the day!!

Visited 1 September 2014

Default Avatar125
Vine Grove, KY
2014/08/28
Excellent Cruise Excursion

This was a great cruise excursion. John was our driver/tour guide. He has hiked and camped in the areas that we toured, so provided great commentary on the area. His love for the area was infectious. Thanks, John. The lunch stop at Caribou Crossing worked well. The food was delicious, particularly the donuts! I highly recommend this cruise excursion.

Default Avatar125
Celebrity Millennium
2014/08/15
7 Hour Tour to Emerald Lake

We liked the small and more personal tours. We had a lot of fog to contend with until we got into Canada. Our guide did a good job and there were enough things to see and do to keep the trip interesting.

Default Avatar125
Texas
2014/07/21

Tyler was an amazing tour guide. He was knowledgeable and funny. We totally enjoyed our day with him. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Default Avatar125
So Cal
2014/07/19
Great tour

Excellent tour, Sunday was a great guide. Views and scenery amazing, Caribou Crossing blah!

Joe Cupec
Butler Pa
2014/07/17
picture of our guide

We really enjoyed our tour up into the Yukon and Carcross. The meal was good. But what we really liked was our guide Tyler he was so informative and funny. We learned a lot about the gold rush, the train, the Chilkoot trail and general things about the area. We definitely give Tyler an A+++

Default Avatar125
UK
2014/07/14
Sunday. What a Star!

Your guide,Sunday,gave us a wonderful day in the Yukon. She went out of her way to ensure we all got the most out of our trip. She was very informative and enthusiastic. I think she is most decidedly an asset to your company. Will you please pass on our compliments to her? Many thanks. Frances Adams.

Default Avatar125
Mississippi, Texas, Louisiana, Washington
2014/06/03
Excellent tour. Informative, interesting, fun.

Our group enjoyed our 6 hours. The sights were breath-taking. We saw bears, mountain goats, bald eagles, dog sled teams and puppies. The information provided was outstanding. A thank you to our guide, Sunday, for sharing her wealth of knowledge of the area.

5% Pledge
Sustainable Tourism

5% of our profits will go to support Alaskan sustainable tourism efforts. That's our pledge at Skagway Shore Tours.

We have something for you!

Exclusive  Inside Passage Planner

An expert-compiled guide with port info, packing lists, and much more!

To receive your FREE

Inside Passage Planner

Just enter your e-mail

Thank You!   Check Your Email

Before You Go

Visit our new site, AlaskaShoreTours.com, that allows multiple-port booking while cross-checking your cruise schedule.  
Simply select your cruise line and we'll ensure tour compatibility.