Sled Dog & Musher’s Camp Reviews

Read Skagway tour reviews and see what recent participants are saying about this excursion. We don't filter out any reviews.

Rating of This tour has received an average of 4.94 stars on a total of 31 Ratings

Default Avatar125
Southern CA
2016/07/31
GREAT Excursion!!!!

We HIGHLY recommend this tour! We had a blast at the Dog Sled Camp AND enjoyed the commentary from our bus driver Raoul on the way up! This was a highlight from our trip to Alaska!

Default Avatar125
California
2016/07/31
So fun!

I would highly recommend this tour. The drive to the the camp was beautiful and informative. It was so great being pulled around by the dogs and learning about the Iditarod. The best part....holding the puppies! All of the staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Default Avatar125
Orlando, FL
2016/07/31

I did this excursion with my mother and 11 year old daughter. We all really enjoyed it! Our driver/tour guide Raul was really personable and presented us with a lot of interesting information on the ride up to the mushers camp. The sled dog run was fun & playing with the dogs after was a treat. I would recommend to other families with children.

Default Avatar125
San Diego
2016/07/19
Five Stars

I would highly recommend this tour. It was a beautiful drive to the base camp and an exciting trip up the mountain. Our guides were excellent, friendly, well informed and entertaining. Meeting the dogs was a treat and riding behind them was amazing. We learned so much about the Iditarod race and met the puppies before heading back to town. I would do this again.

Default Avatar125
Honolulu, Hawaii
2016/07/03
Excellent and Informative

We were picked up dockside by Raul on a very windy Skagway morning. As we drove over to the other cruiseship dock to pick up a few more passengers, Raul introduced himself and gave us little background information. Once enroute with all aboard, Raul gave us the full tour. Not only history, but also a lot of fun info on the daily lives of the guides and those that work for the company. On arrival at the site, we boarded the unimog for our ride up to the camp. That was a fun ride. Up arrival it was exciting to see the dogs so worked up to go for a run! We are very much dog people and that was the main reason for our visit. Ross was the musher and we took off. Volt was a lot of fun to watch. Ross explained the dynamics of the team as we wheeled around. We stopped once for photos. Back at the camp we were allowed to interact with the sled dogs. My wife only got through 10 of the 16 prior to having to leave for the camp dwelling itself. She wished she had more time to Thank each dog personally. Ross gave a very informational talk about the history of the Itidarod and dog mushing in general. We were then free to pet the puppy and the other pups. Great day, Great People. Wish Ross all the best in his quest at dog mushing.

Default Avatar125
Oklahoma City
2016/07/03
Hanging with Jumbo.

This excursion was awesome! Highly recommended for adults or kids. By far the best part of our cruise. Real Iditarod dogs and musher; Noah, dogs, and Kiki were excellent. Thank you.

Default Avatar125
Dayton, Ohio
2016/07/03

This was a great tour for scenery, excitement, the dog sledding experience, and of course the DOGS.
Our driver to the musher camp was informative and humorous. The scenery was spectacular.
The unimog ride up the mountain was fun and beautiful.
The dog musher was so patient and answered all of our questions before and after the sled ride. Petting the dogs was a highlight. Meeting the new puppies and holding them was my granddaughter's favorite part.
The trip is well planned and executed and even got a photo stop on the way back to the ship.
Loved this excursion.

Jennifer T
Kentucky
2016/06/13
Wonderful Experience

My husband and I really enjoyed our experience at the musher's camp. We loved the entire experience. Our guide was very nice and knowledgeable. My favorite part was getting to meet outer team of dogs and hold a precious puppy. If I am ever in Alaska again, I will book this again.

Default Avatar125
Memphis, TN
2016/05/24
Skagway Sled Dog Musher Camp tour

The tour is well-organized and fun. We started with sitting in the cart which was pulled by 15 hard-working dogs. It was really fun! Later Becky explained sled dog competition clearly which answered lots of questions we always had. Last but not least, we met the puppies and hung out with them a bit. They were really cute and we hope them become part of the sled dog team soon in the future.

Default Avatar125
North Carolina
2015/09/08

This was a memorable and exciting tour. The dogs of course were the main attraction, but all of the guides we met were informative and with great personalities. It was apparent that the dogs and trainers shared a close relationship. Loved it.

CC
New Jersey
2015/08/31
Great Fun at Musher Dog Camp

We had a great time at this excursion. First we were picked up by a very friendly driver who is very knowledgeable of the area. After a scenic, humourous and educational drive to the camp, we were treated to a trek through the camp grounds on dog sled teams led by professional dog trainers. Lastly, we were presented with the history of the sport and we had a chance to play with the puppies. A great time had by all especially the children.

Default Avatar125
Minnesota
2015/08/26
!!!

It was amazing! All of the drivers and mushers were super friendly, and the entire experience was one I'll never forget. Thank you!

Default Avatar125
New Jersey
2015/08/25
Best Cruise Tour

3 granddaughters, four parents and two grandparents had a wonderful time. Excellent tour! Very informative, good guides, great dogs. Would highly recommend. Drew was very helpful arranging this tour after all other tours were filled. Lasting memories for all of us.

Default Avatar125
Wisconsin
2015/08/24
Skagway sled dog and musher

Beautiful scenery on the way. Grand daughters really enjoyed the sled ride and playing with the puppies.

Default Avatar125
Pennsylvania
2015/08/12
Great experience!

Our family of 5 children and 5 adults loved this excursion. It was entertaining and educational.
The staff was passionate about the dogs and professional with the visitors!

Default Avatar125
Houston, TX
2015/08/07
Fantastic Adventure

One of the best tours on the trip. The sled ride with the dogs was wonderful! All the guides were so friendly and informative. The talk from Matt about Iditoride was amazing. Bonnie was cute and adorable but mumbled a bit and was hard to understand. Gavin was great on the Unimog. We highly recommend this tour.

Default Avatar125
Mesa, AZ
2015/07/27
Awesome excursion for the whole family!

Everyone from the kids to the grandparents loved this excursion! The dogs, the scenery, the people...everything was wonderful.

Default Avatar125
Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland
2015/07/26
Thoroughly enjoyable relaxed trip

We really enjoyed the dog sledding bit of the trip which was over too soon. The location was beautiful, the team were relaxed and very friendly and meeting the dogs and pups was the icing on the cake. We had perfect weather which enhanced the whole experience too. Thank you for a really enjoyable afternoon, the time flew by!

Default Avatar125
Skagway - Royal Caribbean
2015/07/23

We were a group of 11 with kids age 11 to 15. We all loved seeing the dogs and having the cart ride behind the dogs. The shuttle went through beautiful scenery we wouldn't have seen without the excursion. Our shuttle driver was amusing and informative I think his name was Kevin.

Default Avatar125
Florida
2015/07/19
Musher Camp

Our group of 5 enjoyed the tour. Our van driver was very nice. He explained everything we drove by as we drove to the camp. The camp was very well maintained and clean. The ride in the unimod was very exciting. Meeting all of the staff and the dogs was an unforgettable experience. The dogs love to run!! This was a fantastic tour.

Default Avatar125
JEWEL OF THE SEAS
2015/06/12

Fabulous tour! We loved the drive up to the camp to see a small part of Skagway, the setting for the camp, the ride up to the dogs! All just perfect. Loved the information about the dogs and the mushers! You kept everything on time, so that we didn't have to worry about being late for something else. Thank-you for making our Alaskan visit complete!

Default Avatar125
North Carolina
2015/06/07
Fun for Kids and Adults Alike

This tour was a lot of fun for everyone involved.

Default Avatar125
Melbourne, Australia
2014/09/07

Great fun. The dogs were fabulous and friendly. A must do when you go to Skagway. THe camp was informative and best of all, we got to carry the pups. They're gorgeous!!

Default Avatar125
Alaskan cruise
2014/08/29
Awesome

This excursion was by far the best event we went too. The tour guide was very informative and friendly. We loved every part of the excursion and would like to come back some day. Of course we love doges and we have an Alaskan Malimute.

Default Avatar125
oakland, ca
2014/08/29
SKAGWAY Sled Dog Adventure & Musher Camp

This was awesome; everything that was promised took place. The puppies were so cute and cuddly. J dot and the rest of the team were very friendly, funny and accomodating. I'm so glad to check this off my bucket list, but will be excited to do it all over again and again. My sister and nephews also had a blast! Part of the reason, we went with your team was that you advertised that you give 5% back to Alaskan environmental and cultural strengthening programs. Thank you!

Default Avatar125
LAS VEGAS, NV
2014/08/25
Great Excursion

I booked this excursion for my mom's birthday when we were in port. This was both fun and educational. I really enjoyed the beautiful scenery. The staff was excellent. From the moment we boarded the shuttle to the time that arrived to the sled, to the end of our visit, all team members were very informative and extremely pleasant. Libby, our guide was the best and our musher, Wade was great!
Thanks for a wonderful time.

Default Avatar125
Wayland, MA
2014/08/09

Photo to follow...amazing day, completed with a grizzly bear sighting. Perfect amount of time, host Garrett was so kind and informative. Very generous with puppy holding time. The beautiful views were just an added bonus. My only critique would've been that the pick up at 2nd & Broadway was very vague...would be nice to have someone holding an obvious sign because it's really easy to miss your guide with 4 busy corners. The confirmations from the tour company were terrific as well.

Kim
Frederick, MD
2014/08/06
Great trip

All of the cruise tours to the Husky sled park were booked...I forgot to book them before we left. I got on line a day earlier and was pleasantly surprised to find an available tour. Being a bit paranoid about having a tour not booked on the ship, I booked early. Much to my surprise, my parents, who had booked via the cruise line went on the exact same tour (for more money!) and were being dropped off at the park as we were leaving.

The tour was fantastic, except for the lady with really curly hair who insisted on sitting in the front of the sled car and prohibited my daughter from seeing.

All in all, it was a good tour, great views, fabulous mushers and a fun at the puppy park.

Default Avatar125
2014/08/04
Sled Dog & Musher's Camp

My ten year old granddaughter and I enjoyed our dog sledding adventure. She was terrified going up the mountain but also thrilled. She loved the dogs, especially Jake, as he shares his name with her little brother. And....the puppies were a huge hit.
I thought the guides, mushers, drivers were well-informed, safety-conscious, friendly and appeared to love what they do.
This was our first trip to Alaska and we had a good time. My granddaughter slept through the earthquake that occurred on our first night in Skagway although grandma did not!!!!
Thank you.f

Default Avatar125
Cherryville,NC
2014/07/15
Musher camp tour

We really enjoyed the tour and the guides we had Libby, Brad and Wade were all super nice and informative. Libby was easy to chat with and gave super info about the camp. Brad was a wonderful driver of the UniMog and seemed to enjoy visiting with us. Wade helped us with photos and very informative. Thanks to all we had a great time.

Default Avatar125
Florida
2014/07/03
Fun & Informative

Our party of 7 included an 8 year old with 6 adults. We all enjoyed learning about the sport of dog sled mushing, the care & training of the dogs and of course - the puppies! The staff was completely approachable, they answered all questions with a smile as they shared their enthusiasm. We booked directly with the company as our 'cruise director' told us that the spaces reserved by the cruise line were sold out. We definitely recommend it!

5% Pledge
Sustainable Tourism

5% of our profits will go to support Alaskan sustainable tourism efforts. That's our pledge at Skagway Shore Tours.

FREE 

 

PLANNER

with Cruise Packing List

Packing lists, money-saving tips, where to eat, and do-it-yourself activities.

JOIN

the INSIDER

NEWSLETTER!

Don't forget to visit  AlaskaShoreTours.com

for Juneau, Skagway, and Ketchikan all in one place.

Thank You! Check Your Email

Looking for Skagway or Ketchikan Tours?