Chilkoot Trail Hike & Float Reviews

Read Skagway tour reviews and see what recent participants are saying about this excursion. We don't filter out any reviews.

Rating of This tour has received an average of 4.5 stars on a total of 16 Ratings

Default Avatar125
Texas
2016/07/03
Great Hike

Yukon Bob was very knowledgable about plants, animals, and the terrain - safety was his #1 thing- after that it was teaching and guiding - our group of 8 all enjoyed the entire day
I would so take a tour with Bob again

Default Avatar125
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2016/07/03
Fabulous Hike and Float

I've also rated this adventure on Trip Advisor because Brian our guide was AMAZING! The hike was gorgeous (and steep!), but invigorating to take in the majestic scenery - the float was a blast too. Brian was so knowledgeable and such a great guy! Can't wait to return for the biking portion!

Default Avatar125
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2016/05/24

My husband and I enjoyed this excursion very much. The guides, Brooke and Brian, were knowledgeable, helpful, and fun. We were especially appreciative that they both showed such love and respect for the area. The trail hike was not as difficult as we thought it might be. The float was fun! We saw lots of eagles.

Default Avatar125
Maryland
2015/09/29
Hike & Float Tour

We had a very informative and enjoyable afternoon hiking with your Guide Owen. The trip was a great way to see the Alaska outdoors. However, it does require participants to be in good physical condition in order to complete and enjoy the hiking portion of the trip.

Default Avatar125
Southern California
2015/09/20
Great Hike

Owen led a great hike on the Chilkoot Trail. He shared oodles of knowledge about the trail as well as the general area of Skagway. The float was fun as well; he navigated nicely!

Default Avatar125
Union kY
2015/09/05

Great Tour
Bob was our tour guide and made sure that everyone was safe and enjoyed the tour. He was extremely knowledgable and shared his passion for the area. Would definitely recommend the tour.

Jill Walsh
California
2015/09/03
Loved our guide, Bob

We really enjoyed our tour in Skagway of Chilkoot Trail and float. We saw a bear and Eagles on the river...thankfully no bears on the trail although our guide pointed out signs all over the place of where they had been on it. Our guide taught us a lot about the flora and fauna as well as the history of the place. We were a very mixed experienced group- 10 year old, non-outdoorsy mom, a very experienced mountaineer and a chilkoot trail veteran and the excursion was truly enjoyed by all! Bob, our guide took safety very seriously when it came time to be on the river and as the mom of the ten year old I appreciated it! I thought the price we paid was fair and will be using you guys next time we're up in your great state!

Default Avatar125
Denver, Colorado
2015/07/28
hiking adventure

Great hiking. Bob was very knowledgeable and shared it with us in a fun filled morning of trekking and floating.It's a great way to explore the Skagway area

Default Avatar125
San Antonio, TX
2015/07/05
Owen was great

Our hike and float were great. The scenery was amazing and our guide Owen added great personal touches and information that really set it apart.

Danny
Louisiana
2015/05/31
Great Hike & Float

We had perfect weather, which I understand may be a little unusual with the amount of rain the area receives. Our guide, Brooke, was very knowledgeable about the area and forest. She allowed the group to taste some of the edible plants in the forest, which my teenage son who enjoys the woods loved! After the hike which had a few hills, but wasn't too strenuous, the rafting was relaxing and much cooler on the water. Definitely need sleeves on the rafting portion.

Default Avatar125
St. Louis
2015/05/24
Great experience

My mom and I did the chilkoot trail hike and float tour and had an incredible experience. It was a beautiful day in Alaska and the trail, river, and scenery were breathtaking. Joe was a great guide and very knowledgeable and friendly. Every member of the staff we came into contact with was very courteous. If you are looking for a tour that will get you into the Alaskan wilderness this is a perfect tour for it. No complaints.

Default Avatar125
Texas
2014/08/25
Perfect hike and float!

The hike and float were great! Owen was the perfect guide! Weather was awesome! Beautiful hike! We saw eagles on the raft trip:) Fun and I highly recommend this journey!

Default Avatar125
Kansas
2014/08/04
Good expierence

We enjoyed the hike and float tour. Bob had a lot of information about the flora and climate. We didn't see any bears but were able to see some Eagles and Salmon.

Catherine Sieleman
Iowa
2014/07/08
Chilkoot Trail

What a beautiful afternoon we had! I was traveling with my 80 year old parents who were a little concerned about the difficulty of the trail, but they did great! It should be worded in the description that the trail is semi steep and "tree rooty" for the first bit. Especially if age of the hikers comes into play. All in all though, the weather was perfect and the river float was wonderful!!!

Default Avatar125
San Diego [ poway]
2014/06/30
Chilkoot hike and float

My wife and I booked our tour about a month in advance of our trip and were kept in contact with our tour co. When we arrived in Skagway we were met at the dock and driven into to town to meet up with the other hikers and guide. Nate was our guide and driver . After a drive out of town and a stop for pictures we arrived at the jump off point for the hiking part of the trip. Nate offered all of us water, granola bars and walking sticks [ the telescoping kind] . We hiked along the river ,then into the rain forrest and up and up. Nate was very sure to talk about all the history of the trail, the local plant life and the native people. Also the NFS rangers and volunteers who maintain the trail. When we reached the river we were given safety instructions, a life vest and boots. Now this what I call a great afternoon, floating down river, seeing eagles in their nest, looking at mountains, glaciers, trees,the sky......beautiful ! Snacks of smoked salmon, crackers, cheese, Oreo cookies water and juice were nice treat at the end of the trail. On the way back to town I asked about local watering holes and we were dropped off at a brew pub featuring local brews......hmmm good.

Default Avatar125
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2014/06/23
Great fun!

Great to experience the trial. Tour host Bob was fantastic and shared his insights. He really made the trip memorable. Only wished we had more time on the trial. Well organized!

5% Pledge
Sustainable Tourism

5% of our profits will go to support Alaskan sustainable tourism efforts. That's our pledge at Skagway Shore Tours.

We have something for you!

Exclusive  Inside Passage Planner

An expert-compiled guide with port info, packing lists, and much more!

To receive your FREE

Inside Passage Planner

Just enter your e-mail

Thank You!   Check Your Email

Before You Go

Visit our new site, AlaskaShoreTours.com, that allows multiple-port booking while cross-checking your cruise schedule.  
Simply select your cruise line and we'll ensure tour compatibility.