Bennett Lake Scenic Journey Reviews

Read Skagway tour reviews and see what recent participants are saying about this excursion. We don't filter out any reviews.

Rating of This tour has received an average of 4.76 stars on a total of 21 Ratings

Default Avatar125
Orlando, FL
2016/07/03

Order of travel was switched without notifying us. We were scheduled to ride the train up to Bennet Lake and then bus down on the return. We did not find out about the change until we were told to board the bus.

Temperature in van/bus was cold. We repeatedly asked the driver to turn up the heat, but there was no noticeable difference in temperature.

Stop time at Bennet Lake was extended from 45 mins to 1 hour without asking if the time extension was agreeable to us. This was especially annoying because mosquitoes were particularly bad at that time, and part of the trail was closed to our exploration due to a bear sighting. We could have used less time, not more time at the site.

The RR history itself was interesting and worth seeing. Staff could have been more sensitive to our interests and needs.

Default Avatar125
Windermere, BC. Canada
2016/07/03

It as one of three highlights of our recent camping trip to Alaska. Without question I would recommend the Bennett Train - 8 hour trip. The scenery can only be seen with this way of travel, the commentary was excellent and even the food served was very good. While it appears expensive when first reading of the trip I can only say that it was worth every penny. Highly recommend this trip

Jean G
Minnesota
2016/06/15
Simply Amazing!

I would recommend this train trip to anyone. We had so much fun. The people were so knowledgeable and friendly. We saw wild life, waterfalls, and traveling into the Yukon was great! Go you won't be disappointed.

Massimo M
Italy
2016/06/13
Great scenic railway

Great scenic railway and wonderful drive back to Skagway. The bus driver Larry was really nice.

Default Avatar125
Traverse City, MI
2016/06/05
Beautiful Trip

The train ride was absolutely wonderful. We had perfect weather. The scenery was fantastic. Leaving from Skagway, you will get better scenery on the left side of the train (facing forward) than the right, as the left side is mostly valley facing and the right side mostly faces the side of the mountain. The narration on the train ride is informative and helpful. We are very happy we took this tour rather than the excursion through our cruise ship, as this tour took us into the Yukon Territory - another check off our travel bucket list. The coach ride back was very comfortable, with a knowledgeable and funny driver. Very happy we chose this tour!!!

Default Avatar125
Baltimore, MD
2015/07/31
Breathtaking

My family and I were planning a trip to Alaska, and one of the things I knew we needed to do was take a trip on the railroad. Boy was it worth it.

The staff at the station were very courteous and helpful. We boarded our train right on time and were on our way.

The view all along the rail was breathtaking. It was great to hear the history and some of the facts.

Lunch was great, and the views at Lake Bennett were spectacular.

The real surprise was the bus ride back. Our driver was so personable, helpful, and even stopped a few times along the way at scenic spots. We even got to see a momma bear and her two cubs on the way back!

It was also nice knowing we were supporting the history of the region.

Donna & John Riley
Seattle (Whidbey Island), WA
2015/07/27
Train up, lunch and then bus back was the best!

We really enjoyed the historic train trip up to Lake Bennett. "Josh" was great at giving up "minute-by-minute" information on the sites and history of the route and train. Lunch at the Lake was awesome (hearty beef stew, bread, cole slaw, home-made apply pie). Then we hopped on a bus with "Brian" to continue on to Carcross and saw Emerald Lake, Bridal Veil Falls, the summit landscape, glaciers, "Welcome to" Yukon and "Alaska" roadside stops. So glad we didn't go train round-trip! This was the way to go. Highly recommended it for a Skagway day trip. So much to see, we didn't want to miss a minute of it.

Default Avatar125
Skagway, AK
2015/07/22
Great trip

Great excursion with an awesome beef stew served at Bennett. Train trip is a little long for the 67.5 miles but very beautiful along the way.

Default Avatar125
Phoenix, AZ
2015/07/21
Breath Taking Views

We booked this excursion on our own prior to our cruise which saved us $20 total. However, it took us farther than the cruise line tour. The views were breath taking and nothing that I have ever seen before (remember, I live in the AZ desert 🙂 ). We saw a grizzly with her two cubs munching on berries close to the road on our way to Emerald Lake. Our tour guide (Kevin) was full of interesting facts.

Now the train ride was a different story and one that my husband will never live down. At the first stop (Fraser BC) out of Skagway, my husband got off the train to visit the depots facilities. Being the great train conductor he was, I'm sorry his name slips my mind, he kept the train on time. Sadly, my husband was still in the depot when the engineer received the "lets go" call and down the track we headed, minus one person. They were happy to back up the train and pick up Jim. All this took less then 10 min's. The Conductor was a cheerful gentleman and told Jim he had joined an exclusive club that day. He was happy to have his picture taken with Jim and offered to take pictures of us.

We would recommend this excursion to anyone and will take it again on our next visit to Skagway.

Thank you for making our 30th wedding anniversary trip memorable.

Default Avatar125
Christchurch, New Zealand
2015/07/15
Fantastic Bennet Lake

What a fantastic day. Starting with our bus ride with lots of viewing / photo stops and then onto the train for the journey back to Skagway. It was great to get the different perspectives with knowledgeable guides in both directions. Lunch at Bennet Lake was actually quite tasty. We would definitely recommend this excursion.

Default Avatar125
Goodyear, Arizona
2015/07/14
Fabulous Tour to the Yukon!

Overall, this is a great tour. The first part, on the White Pass Railway, is a thrilling ride on a narrow gauge railway. It follows the trail of the gold rush with lots of history. The stop in Bennett Lake allows you to put your feet on the end of the Chilkoot Trail. A delightful day in Alaska AND Canada!

Default Avatar125
California
2015/07/10
Relaxing and beautiful journey to Bennett Lake

The scenery is just gorgeous and we enjoyed the stops on the bus ride back to Skagway. It got a little boring for the young adults in our family, plus we were all tired from traveling and the early start of this excursion but not the tours fault for that! Snacks might have made it a little better since there was no time to eat before we headed into town from the ship. Overall a nice trip that went off without a hitch.

Default Avatar125
Fort Myers, Florida USA
2015/06/23
Sheer delight

A train buff friend recommended we take the Bennett Lake trip this June. It was a beautiful ride and lovely experience. We learned a great deal about its history and the territory involved. Our guide, David, had just the right blend of doling out information without burying you in too much forgettable stuff. The train itself is romantically old-time -- although one might complain that the diesel engines don't make a good choo-choo sound! Lunch at Bennett Lake was a good and great surprise. Highly recommend!

Default Avatar125
Temple TX
2015/06/20

Fabulous tour

Default Avatar125
New Zealand
2014/09/08
Great Tour

5/5 Highly recommend this tour. Driver/Guide was very knowledgeable and provided a humorous
commentary. It was great to do the road in one direction and the train in the other. This provided different scenery. Lunch at Bennett Lake was much tastier than we were expecting. All in all a great day!

Default Avatar125
California
2014/09/02
Great Tour

We did the Bennett Lake Scenic Journey and had a great time. We took the bus during the first leg and our tour guide (Mike) was hilarious. We had lots of photo stops on the way up that we would have never been able to do with a larger group/bus. The train ride on the way back was beautiful and our guide on the train was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was a long tour (about 8 hours) but the time flew by. Highly recommended!

Default Avatar125
Suffolk, Virginia
2014/08/31
Bennett Lake Scenic Journey

This was a great railway journey! We enjoyed the scenery and we enjoyed the ride! The lunch at Bennett Lake was very good, especially the apple pie. Got a terrific photo of an eagle at Bennett Lake. The narration along the ride was very interesting.

Default Avatar125
Tennessee
2014/07/16
Lake Bennett

Nice, little long. It was great for inactive or active people! A lot of scenery just breathe taking!!

Default Avatar125
Chicago
2014/07/15
Bennett lake and Yukon and White Horse Railroad

The highlight of the trip was the train ride from Bennett Lake. Our 3 year-old grandson had his train book with him and could not wait to ride the train that was featured in the book. The train did not disappoint and we were glad we had chosen the longer trip. Drive to Bennett Lake was enjoyable as our driver was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Default Avatar125
Boise, Idaho, USA
2014/06/25
Bennett Lake Scenic Tour

Three of us took the Bennett Lake Scenic tour. Everyone connected with this was friendly and helpful from the gals in the depot, and the young, knowledgeable girl on the train, to our van driver on the way back. The train ride was good (my husband says this was his favorite thing about our vacation) and the views were beautiful! We lucked out and had a nice, clear day. The wind was blowing but we found out from our guide that that is what keeps the mosquitoes away! The lunch at Bennett Lake was superior! That chef could get a job anywhere!!!! Mike was our driver on the way back and he was very friendly, knowledgeable, and relaxed. I got a little sleepy on the train, but it was a fun time and worth the money.

Default Avatar125
Enumclaw WA
2014/06/21
Train to Carcross

We had a great time. Day was beautiful making both the train and bus ride great. We really did enjoy the bus ride back. The driver made various stops and was very knowledgeable about the area and sites.

5% Pledge
Sustainable Tourism

5% of our profits will go to support Alaskan sustainable tourism efforts. That's our pledge at Skagway Shore Tours.

We have something for you!

Exclusive  Inside Passage Planner

An expert-compiled guide with port info, packing lists, and much more!

To receive your FREE

Inside Passage Planner

Just enter your e-mail

Thank You!   Check Your Email

Before You Go

Visit our new site, AlaskaShoreTours.com, that allows multiple-port booking while cross-checking your cruise schedule.  
Simply select your cruise line and we'll ensure tour compatibility.